top of page
  • Writer's pictureIbrahim Hashmat

ICM Entry #3: Group Project. TV's with Jezzy

For this week's ICM assignment I was paired with Jezzy (Zheng Lu) and for our project we decided to make an old timey TV.


Image of an old retro TV
An old timey TV

We wanted to have the knobs on the side change what happens on the screen and for the most part we succeeded.


Sketch of JEzzy and I's sketch consisting of four bouncing pink balls, a tv with a turquoise screen and a dark blue background.
Jezzy and I's retro trippy TV

Jezzy and I decided to try to make as much of the TV as we could on our own because we felt like the practice would be helpful. In the end we went with Jezzy's draft as it felt more cohesive.


Code for Jezzy's antennas
Jezzy's antennas

Getting into the code, the antennas on the TV follow the mouse.





Jezzy's button

Jezzy the wizard came up with the code for the button to change color of the screen. I tried this in my draft but I kept messing it up









Code for my slider
My slider

I came up with an idea for the slider. Initially the idea was to have the slider make the screen darker or lighter by changing the transparency of the screen. But it started overwriting Jezzy's button. So I decided to have the slider change the background of the canvas and we get a nice trippy effect when I added an alpha value.



Code for my bouncing balls
My bouncing balls

I wanted to add another layer to our sketch because I felt like it was missing something so after discussing with Jezzy we decided to add some bouncing balls in the background.







Code from Dana Elkis incorporated into our sketch
Dana Elkis's code molded into our sketch

I ran into some hitches with the movement of my code so I went to Google to find anything similar and found this code by Dana Elkis and incorporated it into our sketch. I messed around with her code and made adjustments and it fit in very nicely with the rest of the sketch.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ICM Media Entry#5 Markov Chains and Text

The prompt for this week felt very open ended (more so than usual) and I felt like I should try something completely different to what we did in class, so I picked Markov chains. For my assignment thi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page