top of page
  • Writer's pictureIbrahim Hashmat

ICM Entry #4 Repetition

For this week's assignment we had to make our sketch with loops so that they would repeat. This proved way more challenging than I initially thought. The issue that I faced this week was coming up with an idea for a sketch.


At first I wanted to make a ever-rotating ellipse similar to this one.


But this proved too difficult I couldn't figure out where to even start. Then I thought maybe I could make a looping animation of snow falling down the screen. I tried looking up some sketches to use as a template but then I decided to scrap that idea too. After feeling lost I turned to some videos by Daniel Shiffman and those brought some much needed creativity. I followed along with his video on making a rain sketch. But my sketch wouldn't work even though I did the same steps as Dan.



After this failure I went looking for inspiration in the p5 examples tab and I came across the "Wavemaker" example. I decided to use that as a template and then I messed around with it and made my own version of it.



I removed the x coordinate from the example and used y values only because I really liked the motion that it created. I had the y-angle follow mouseX, (trying to be adventurous.) The wave moves up the screen and the y angle is mapped mouseX, so it ripples across the screen vertically. I messed around with the transparency of the background to give it a trippy feeling. I think it came out nicely,

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ICM Media Entry#5 Markov Chains and Text

The prompt for this week felt very open ended (more so than usual) and I felt like I should try something completely different to what we did in class, so I picked Markov chains. For my assignment thi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page