top of page
  • Writer's pictureIbrahim Hashmat

ICM Media Entry#3 Sound Visualizer

I know its super late but my code just started to work :(



So my idea was to create some visuals for my synth songs, I followed Dan Shiffman's videos on making basic visuals but those were too dull for the this genre. So I spent days looking at visuals made in processing, followed them and experimented with them. But couldn't get them to work in P5 because the syntax is different so I scrapped them.


Then I decided to find some inspiration on YouTube, I converted some processing snippets into p5, those worked. I then found a p5 repository on GitHub that I used as a basis for my code. I used the particle system and peak detection code and changed them to my liking.


The particles now become paint droplets since I changed the alpha value of the background. I also increased the speed of the droplets so that they overlap an make a mess, since music is a mess of sound so I thought it was apt. Plus I think the color and the speed at which they fall is very fitting for how sound travels plus its very mesmerizing. The initial code used the mic but I reworked it for sound because that's what I wanted to do. I found the mic use annoying because I have a lot of white noise in my room so my mic would pick that up and ruin my testing. The white noise would cause the music to stop with first draft. So I removed the mic entirely. Now the paint droplets fall to the beat if the music. I chose heavy bass music so that there would a wide range of sounds in my sketch, and that would cause the whole window to be filled with color.



The code is too large to screenshot so here's the link.


Here it is in action.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ICM Media Entry#5 Markov Chains and Text

The prompt for this week felt very open ended (more so than usual) and I felt like I should try something completely different to what we did in class, so I picked Markov chains. For my assignment thi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page