top of page
  • Writer's pictureIbrahim Hashmat

Multimedia Storytelling Project

For my project I'm torn between choosing 'Eveline' or 'The Lottery', so for now I have workshopped an idea for both.


Lapses (Eveline):


The lack of agency and the feeling of being lost in time and the world was what really stuck out for me in this short story so I want to hone in on that sense of emotion. I have made a rough storyboard for what kind of framing and overall style I want to achieve in this short film.



Black and white images of a character moving from left to right in a series of smaller images, depicting a narrative
Storyboard for Lapses

The idea is to have very little dialogue or music and just use ambient sounds that would appear in a person's bedroom. While workshopping I decided that maybe a sense of isolation that comes during quarantine could be depicted in this short film. That aspect is something I'm still playing with and may or may not end up in the final cut. I want to play around with timing and the transition types like subject-to-subject, scene-to-scene and non-sequiturs.


Since I'm in quarantine myself, the main character will be played by my sister and we will follow her around as the "Eveline' counterpart.


The Lottery ? [Name Pending] ('The Lottery'):


My first idea for this project involved The Lottery, I was immediately hooked on the uneasy nature of the narrative and want to capture that in a gameshow setting. The main elements I'm taking from the story are the gamification of a lottery and the act of stoning someone to death without thinking of the value of life.


My idea is to create a gameshow where the fail state is the contestant dying by being stoned to death by the 'live studio audience'. This too may well be a short film about a gameshow or it may happen live on Zoom! I'm still thinking about that.


This a 'mood broad' for the gameshow idea:

A collage of images that depict a wheel of fortune, someone tied up and a stone.
A messy mood-board for the gameshow

The set and the entire gameshow will be made in cardboard. My inspiration for the cardboard style came from Noodle's Door Tier List Response video. I will be filming the gameshow as a puppet show with a static camera that quickly devolves into a horrific absurdity. Using cartoon imagery for the characters juxtaposed against a very charged violent event is something I want to play with in this piece.


I'm currently trying to make props and stuff this week, I'll edit this page when they're done. Cardboard is in short supply in Pakistan ;(

13 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page