top of page
  • Writer's pictureIbrahim Hashmat

Stories of Illness Week 2 Response (Tasked Analysis: Standing up )

Updated: Oct 8, 2021


The task I chose for this assignment was trying to see how my body moves when I need to get off my seat and stand up. I did this task over and over again in front of a mirror to get a sense of how I look when I perform it. After doing so I averaged out my movements and made notes on what was happening in my body, both internally and externally.


A series of sketches of a stick figure trying to get off their chair is shown. There are some annotations in red pen to help describe the movements
'Assisted Movement' sketch

In my analysis, I found two distinct ways this task can be performed (at least how I perform them). The first is shown in the sketch above. I call this 'Assisted Movement', it involves the individual using some leverage (which can be their knees or the seat itself) to push against to create a lift that helps them off their seat.


This task has several steps. First, the desire to move is initiated by the individual, this stimulus can be internal ('I want to get up') or external ('someone is calling me/told me to get up'). Then the individual begins to find leverage to place their hands on and creates some lift. This lift carries momentum which they use to keep the movement flowing which culminates in them getting off their seat.


The other way this task can perform is shown in the following sketch.

A series of sketches of a stick figure getting off their chair, this sketch shows the task being done much faster. There are annotation sin blue which help to describe the movements being done.
'Free Movement' sketch

I call this 'Free Movement' where the individual can perform the task without any leverage. The stimulus remains the same but the response is different. The individual creates lift and momentum on their own. They hop off their chair and the task is complete.


Internally this task requires support from the feet to sustain the movement of the body. Bending of the knees for the upward lift, strength in muscles for the sudden change in the dynamics of the body. All of this is contingent on support from the spinal cord. Getting off a chair/seat requires the working of the entire body.


To sort of elaborate on the workings of the spinal cord I drew another small sketch


Shows a series of sketches of a stick figure from sitting to standing in an arc of the degrees of movement which are involved
'Variations in Movement' sketch

In my analysis, I saw that I have at least 8 degrees of movement when it comes to getting off my chair. I either lean my back or tuck my head. Bend my knees and then have my head lead the movement to completion. My back and my extension of my spinal cord does all the heavy lifting (literally).


4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page