top of page
  • Writer's pictureIbrahim Hashmat

Animation Entry #1: Gifs

I've been super excited for this class for a while and now that it's begun I'm all giddy. For our first assignment we had to create two gifs in the vein of this style.


Coming up with an idea took me a good while, I bought some art supplies e.g different colored chart paper and some double sided tape. To get motivated I watched some of my favorite animated movies like Isle of Dogs and Coraline. For my first gif I decided to make an arrow tighten and then shoot off.


A red arrow tilts back and then shoots off across the page until it loses momentum and comes to a stop.
A speedy red arrow

The storyboarding for this animation was completely different to the finished product, my initial idea was to have the arrow hit the right side and crumple into pieces. I scrapped the idea while filming and found this new ending more visually pleasing, how the arrow slowly loses momentum and lightly taps the right side as it becomes stationary again.


My next gif idea was very spontaneous, I was filming on Halloween and decided to go with a spooky theme. I printed out an image of a tombstone, tapped it to a book and began filming with black chart paper as the background. I have an old Halloween hanging in skeleton in my room so I used that. I slightly tilted the tombstone to give some life to it,


The most difficult part of this assignment was getting the lightning to be consistent and while constantly keeping the animation flowing properly. I had to do quite a few takes before I got these two finished and even now I feel like I could have fixed some hiccups.


A skeleton comes out of a grave, waves and then goes back underground.
A spooky skeleton

Overall, I'm super happy with how these turned out. This first assignment was super fun albeit a tad daunting at times.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page