top of page
  • Writer's pictureIbrahim Hashmat

Animation Entry# 4: Finished Animation

This week's gonna be the most exciting one so far, everyone will show their work and we'll move onto Unity which will be super dope.


I finished my own animation over the weekend but had to adjust some frames after showing my draft to my friends. They had some helpful critiques. After everything was said and done my animation file was a whopping 11.5 GB, which I wasn't expecting. I then spent the following few days trying to compress it and started to panic when it online compression systems would keep failing on me. A friend of mine suggested I use Premiere Pro to compress the footage and that worked. While doing that I decided to mess around in Premiere Pro and and some royalty free music because I felt that my work was missing sound. I'm not exactly sure if we were meant to add sound effects to our work because we didn't discuss that in class so I made two separate files, one with music and one without.


So here's my complete animation, you'll notice that I kept the gist of the storyboards but added some new ideas because the animation was too short at first.


The story is about this extraterrestrial vinyl in deep space that springs to life and flies around our solar system until it collapses into Earth, triggering the extinction of the dinosaurs. Later Man finds the vinyl and we see a transition occur in time where the vinyl bestowed humankind with technological prowess. In the final moments an astronaut takes the original vinyl and leaves it on the moon for other species to find it.


I had a great time making this despite how bizarre it may have turned out. I tried to incorporate arcs, stretching, movement, secondary action and camera movements as best as I could. I came into this project with zero skills and through the creation process have learnt a fair amount. I hope you found this weird story enjoyable!



This it with music:


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page