top of page
  • Writer's pictureIbrahim Hashmat

Animation Entry#5 : Unity Animation Cornell Box

Animating in Unity has been by far the most technically challenging aspect of this class. While a bit aggravating at times (Unity would freeze up on my laptop) it was a really enlightening learning experience.


For our project we had to animate and construct a Cornell Box using a theme of our choosing. My theme was cinema. My Cornell box encompasses the different aspects of the cinema, I wanted to capture what a run down quaint theatre looks and feels like. During COVID the film industry has taken a major hit, many cinema chains have been forced to close leaving these sprawling homes of this art form; alone and decrepit. It's for this reason I wanted to capture the essence of an abandoned cinema. Joseph Cornell would often stay at home and construct these boxes of places he would want to visit, I wanted to mimic that feeling with my own Cornell Box. I long for the days where I could visit the theatre and watch films. Feel the sense of community as I sit next to fellow movie-goers as we all experience a piece of art.


The assets I used for my box include a film screen with small screws and bolts to keep it from falling, a singular worn out couch, rotting brick walls, an old camera and one massive prop film reel harkening back to the olden days of the industry. It's all very simple but I think it captures what I wanted; a feeling of invitation for one last hurrah as well as a sort of melancholy one would feel by seeing a theatre in shambles.


This the loop of my Cornell Box, I for the life of me couldn't figure out how to export a video. I hope my small box can evoke the same feelings as I had while constructing it.




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page